The People We Meet, writing

TPWM: the guys who know a guy

A white guy came in the other day with a Korean guy, both young.

I’m giving y’all the specifics because I live in a predominantly Asian and white suburb, however it’s not very common that the two mix, especially not outside of an educational setting. Naturally, this piqued my interest.

Turns out that S was visiting from South Korea, and was staying with B for two weeks. Hence the need to get a phone plan, provided by yours truly.

As we were setting up, I found out that B teaches English abroad, and has taught in Seoul, Shanghai, and in different parts of South America. I couldn’t contain my excitement as I told them that’s exactly what I’ve dreamed of doing since I was young (still am, who are we kidding), and at the very least, I’d have to try it out for a year after I finished my schooling.

This is the part where S came out of his shell a little bit, and talked excitedly about the opportunities in SK. This is actually where the two met, as B had taught in Korea. Years later, they’re still friends.

This is what I’ve learned about teaching English in SK, from them and from my own research:

  • Your employer pays for your room and board
  • Class sizes are small
  • You can make more money with private academies, but run the risk of being scammed/unfairly treated (I’ve heard some horror stories); whereas at public schools, this is less likely to happen but they come with lower pay
  • Eating local is inexpensive and healthy
  • You can buy alcohol at the convenience stores. And according to S, a beer is $2 whereas here in Toronto,  restos will charge ya $6!

Before they left, S let me know that he knows recruiters, and that he will reach out for me once I’m ready, leaving me his contact info. B echoed that S can hook me up with a good, reputable school, and he also left me a great website to post my resumé and look at job openings.

It was bomb meeting those two, and I can’t wait to make this thing happen!

Do you guys have any experience teaching abroad/share the same desire as me? Let me know in the comments below!

Standard

9 thoughts on “TPWM: the guys who know a guy

  1. I didn’t know you had taught in South Korea; that’s amazing! I haven’t taught abroad before, but will be embarking on my first trip for it this fall to France! I’ll keep you updated on how it goes!

    Like

  2. I’m in the same boat as you are, I’m aspiring to teach english in SK too! The only problem I have is I I’m a person who loves company and I think I’ll go without it over there 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

