design, personal life, writing

Ello: Hype or Here to Stay?

A friend texted me this morning, asking, r u on ello? I thought briefly about Googling it first, and then pretending like I  knew exactly what he was talking about. And then I realized he might have been asking, are you still here? hello? as we had been talking and drafting.

It turns out Ello is an ad-free social networking site, that was originally private but is now public. In his words, “it’s like the new Facebook. It’s in beta testing still, so it’s invite-only.”

As soon as he used the words “new” and “invite-only”, I was intrigued. What makes this site tick? I opened my browser to the site and read this manifesto:

Every post you share, every friend you make, and every link you follow is tracked, recorded, and converted into data. Advertisers buy your data so they can show you more ads. You are the product that’s bought and sold.

We believe a social network can be a tool for empowerment. Not a tool to deceive, coerce, and manipulate — but a place to connect, create, and celebrate life.

You are not a product.

Personally, I’m considering joining only because

a) he told me to

b) FOMO, and

c) I like to know about/be a part of things before the general public (hence why I blog so much about new music!)

Much like the spontaneous way C had told me about Ello when we were in the middle of doing our drafting homework (I was, at least), my interest has been sparked. It really is a beautifully designed site, and it’s got a simple clean layout. Now I want to be part of it.

Is it all hype or is is it here to stay?  Only time will tell. Its (supposed) values and ad-free policies may not stay the same forever, but as Vox.com states, “It is for now, and that’s something.”

Thoughts? Share them below!

Standard

8 thoughts on “Ello: Hype or Here to Stay?

  1. Sounds too good to be true to be honest. Then again I’m a bit cynical about the promises of any of these new sites when they can change their policies in a heartbeat. Saying that, I’m tempted lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

